Journey Of A Writer

Parenthesis Punctuation Practice

It’s More Than Just Commentary

Millennial Storyteller
4 min readJun 23, 2024

--

Hello, fellow writer!

Welcome to another writing practice as part of your writing quest. If you’re here for the first time, welcome to the fun part of your writing quest.

This article is all about the parenthesis.

Out of all the punctuation marks, I love this one the most. So does contemporary writing, particularly fiction.

It helps me add in what I, as the narrator, would like to add in if it’s not the subject of the sentence.

You might not like it as much as I do, but I’ve also practiced using the parenthesis a lot. Because a lot of the fiction I was reading had so much of it. It was refreshing to me. It might be for you, too.

Here’s some ways anyone can use parenthesis.

Uses of The Parenthesis

  • Add extra info (Just put it right here (where I can see it and your hands).
  • Add commentary (It was the prettiest dress I had ever seen (if you thought the color of poop was cute)).
  • Insert the author’s voice (Oh, I loved all the things you put in the cake (except for the parts that made me want to vomit))
  • Define Acronyms (I said it was JEAB (Just Eating Avocado Bagels) and we do it everyday at 2PM)

--

--

Millennial Storyteller

Working towards living the life I actually want to live so I can tell a good story.